Senate

The academic governance of the university is vested in senate, as outlined in the Yukon University Act.

Senators 2020-21
Faculty

Aline Goncalves

Information Literacy / Reference Librarian
Library Services
IT & Learning Commons
867.668.8727
agoncalves@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Amanda Graham

Chair, School of Liberal Arts
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts
867.668.8773
agraham@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Brent Langbakk

Instructor, English
School of Academic and Skill Development
Applied Arts
867.668.8742
blangbakk@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Brian Horton

Manager, Northern Climate ExChange
YukonU Research Centre
School of Science
867.456.8636
bhorton@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Doug McRae

Instructor, Heavy Equipment Technician
School of Trades, Technology and Mining
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8768
dmcrae@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Erica Bourdon

Chair, School of Academic and Skill Development
School of Academic and Skill Development
Applied Arts
867.456.8608
ebourdon@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ernie Prokopchuk

Chair, School of Science
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
Ayamdigut (Whitehorse) Campus
867.668.8865
eprokopchuk@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Joel Cubley

Instructor/Coordinator, Earth Sciences
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
School of Science
867.456.8605
jcubley@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kathryn (Katie) Aitken

Instructor/Coordinator, Environmental and Conservation Sciences Program
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8866
kaitken@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Lianne Charlie

Instructor, Indigenous Governance
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts
867.456.8544
lcharlie@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ryan Alaric

Instructor/Coordinator - Watson Lake Community Campus
Community Education and Development - Southern
867.536.8800
ralaric@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Rhonda Wildeman

ITLC Trainer
Library Services
IT & Learning Commons
867.668.8817
rwildeman@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Sky Pearson

Instructor, Welding
School of Trades, Technology and Mining
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8761
spearson@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Victoria Castillo

Instructor/Coordinator, Heritage and Culture Certificate
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts
867.456.8615
vcastillo@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Students

Andrea Bacchetta

Student

Sparsh Arora

Student

Administrative Members

Janet Welch

Vice-President, Academic and Student Services
Vice President's Office
Academic and Student Services
867.668.8715
jwelch@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Karen Barnes

Admin Co-chair

President & Vice Chancellor
President's Office
867.668.8704
kbarnes@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Piers McDonald 

Administration
Board of Governors
pmcdonald@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Shelagh Rowles

Executive Director, Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
867.668.8741
srowles@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Stephen Mooney

Director, Northern Housing Innovation
YukonU Research Centre
867.456.8543
smooney@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Wally Rude

Registrar and Dean of Enrolment Services
Office of the Registrar
867.668.8712
wrude@yukoncollege.yk.ca

At least 60% of the senators are faculty members, and at least 30% are Indigenous persons from Yukon or elsewhere in Canada.

Alternate Members

Alexander Garcia

Instructor, Business Administration
School of Business and Leadership
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8785
agarcia@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Jaclyn Semple

Instructor, Math & Physics
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.456.8548
jsemple@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kevin Kennedy

Instructor/Coordinator, Whitehorse Correctional Centre
Community Education and Development - Southern
867.332.4101
kkennedy@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Aaron France

Instructor, Electrical
School of Trades, Technology and Mining
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8764
afrance@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ex-Officio (resource members)

Maggie Matear

Vice-President, University Services
Administrative Services
867.668.8702
mmatear@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Bronwyn Hancock

Associate Vice-President, Research Development
YukonU Research Centre
867.456.8632
bhancock@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Lacia Kinnear

Director, Governance and Strategic Initiatives
Institutional Research and Planning
Governance Office
867.456.6987
lkinnear@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kara Mott

Associate Registrar
Office of the Registrar
867.668.8716
kmott@yukoncollege.yk.ca

For specific details on the parameters and selection of senators, see the Yukon University Act and Senate bylaws.

Senate and Senate Committees
  • Executive:  coordinates the affairs of senate
  • Internal Academic Governance: reviews, develops and recommends academic policies and procedures to senate.
  • Curriculum and Program Review: discusses and recommends proposals affecting the academic programming, including but not limited to course and program proposals and changes.
  • Academic Appeals: coordinates all academic appeals ensuring a fair and equitable hearing system.
  • Planning and Priorities advises senate on academic and research planning and priorities.
Governance Office

Serves as the secretariat for Senate and its committees.

Lacia Kinnear

Director, Governance and Strategic Initiatives
Institutional Research and Planning
Governance Office
867.456.6987
lkinnear@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Irina Bogachek

Administrative Assistant - Senate Governance Office
Governance Office
867.668.8765
ibogachek@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Senate Policies and Procedures

Senate Responsibilities
Policy AC-01
Revised date: Jun 20, 2018

Terms of Reference
AC Procedure 01
Revised date: Jun 20, 2018
 

Development of New Instructional Programs
Policy AC-03
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Development of New Instructional Programs Procedure
AC Procedure 03
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Review of Instructional Programs
Policy AC-04
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Review of Existing Instructional Programs
AC Procedure 04a
Revised date: June 2018

Suspension, Cancellation or Discontinuance of Programs
AC Procedure 04b
Revised date: May 24, 2017