Academic Council

The Academic Council deals with academic matters, as laid out in the College Act and keeps the content of programs in the realm of the content experts - faculty, administrative and support staff.

There are 18 members on the Council, representing different areas of the College.

Regular Members

Karen Barnes - Co-chair
President & Vice Chancellor
Administrative Services Division
President's Office
867.668.8704
kbarnes@yukoncollege.yk.ca

 

Margaret Dumkee
Dean, Applied Science & Management
Applied Science and Management Division
867.668.8700
mdumkee@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Janet Welch
Vice-President, Academic and Student Services
Academic and Student Services
867.332.2816
jwelch@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Andrew Richardson
Dean
Applied Arts Division
867.668.8782
arichardson@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Tosh Southwick
Executive Director, First Nations Initiatives and Community Engagement
First Nations Initiatives
Community Campuses
867.456.8673
tsouthwick@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kathryn (Katie) Aitken
Instructor/Coordinator, Environmental and conservation Sciences Program
School of Science
Applied Science and Management Division
867.668.8866
kaitken@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ryan Alaric
Instructor/Coordinator - Watson Lake Community Campus
Community Campuses
Extension Division
867.536.8800
ralaric@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Wally Rude
Registrar and Dean of Enrolment Services
Office of the Registrar
867.668.8712
wrude@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Joel Cubley
Instructor/Coordinator, Geological Technology Program
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
School of Science
867.456.8605
jcubley@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Aaron France
Instructor, Electrical
School of Trades, Technology and Mining
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
867.668.8764
afrance@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Amanda Graham
Coordinator/Instructor, University of the Arctic
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts Division
867.668.8773
agraham@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Brent Langbakk
Instructor, English
School of Academic and Skill Development
867.668.8742
blangbakk@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Brian Horton
Manager, Northern Climate ExChange
Yukon Research Centre
School of Science
867.456.8636
bhorton@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Christina Thomas
Instructor, Office Administration
School of Business and Leadership
Applied Science and Management Division
867.668.8755
cthomas@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Colleen Grandy
Instructor, Multimedia Communications & Faculty Development
School of Business and Leadership
IT & Learning Commons
867.668.8834
cgrandy@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ernie Prokopchuk - Co-chair
Instructor, Science Chemistry
School of Science
Applied Science and Management Division
867.668.8865
eprokopchuk@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Janna van Kessel
Instructor/Coordinator, Academic Support
School of Academic and Skill Development
867.668.8744
jvankessel@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Carrie Boles - Student
carrie.boles@yukocollege.yk.ca

Alternate members

Shelagh Rowles
Executive Director, Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
Community Campuses
867.668.8741
srowles@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Clint Sawicki
Associate Vice President, Research Operations
Yukon Research Centre
867.668.8772
csawicki@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Erica Bourdon
Chair
School of Academic and Skill Development
867.456.8608
ebourdon@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kevin Kennedy
Instructor/Coordinator, Whitehorse Correctional Centre
School of Community Education and Development
kkennedy@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Jon Gelinas
Instructor, Multimedia Communication
School of Business and Leadership
Applied Science and Management Division
867.668.8766
jgelinas@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Jaclyn Semple
Instructor, Math & Physics
School of Science
Applied Science and Management Division
867.456.8548
jsemple@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kara Mott
Associate Registrar and Acting Registrar
Office of the Registrar
867.668.8716
kmott@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Student - VACANT

Ex-officio attendees (non-members)

Lacia Kinnear
Director of Governance and Strategic Initiatives
Governance Office
Institutional Research and Planning
867.456.6987
lkinnear@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Bronwyn Hancock
Associate Vice-President, Research Development
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8632
bhancock@yukoncollege.yk.ca
Irina Bogachek
Administrative Assistant - Academic Council
Governance Office
867.668.8765
GovernanceOffice@yukoncollege.yk.ca

The Academic Council determines and regulates the College’s policies with regards to:

  • admissions and registrations;
  • terminations and withdrawals;
  • transfer credit, advanced credit and prior learning assessment and recognition;
  • curriculum content for courses;
  • student academic conduct and student appeals on academic matters;
  • requirements for graduation; and
  • awards recognizing academic excellence.

For specific details on the parameters and selection of Council members, see the College Act.

Academic Council Policies and Procedures

Academic Council Responsibilities
Policy AC-01
Revised date: Jun 20, 2018

Terms of Reference
AC Procedure 01
Revised date: Jun 20, 2018
 

Development of New Instructional Programs
Policy AC-03
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Development of New Instructional Programs Procedure
AC Procedure 03
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Review of Instructional Programs
Policy AC-04
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Review of Existing Instructional Programs
AC Procedure 04a
Revised date: June 2018

Suspension, Cancellation or Discontinuance of Programs
AC Procedure 04b
Revised date: May 24, 2017