Academic Council

The Academic Council deals with academic matters, as laid out in the College Act and keeps the content of programs in the realm of the content experts - faculty, administrative and support staff.

There are 18 members on the Council, representing different areas of the College.

Regular Members

Karen Barnes

Co-chair

President & Vice Chancellor
Administrative Services
President's Office
867.668.8704
kbarnes@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Margaret Dumkee

Dean, Applied Science & Management
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8700
mdumkee@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Janet Welch

Vice-President, Academic and Student Services
Vice President's Office
Academic and Student Services
867.668.8715
jwelch@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Tosh Southwick

Associate Vice-President
Indigenous Engagement and Reconciliation
First Nations Initiatives
867.456.8673
tsouthwick@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kathryn (Katie) Aitken

Instructor/Coordinator, Environmental and Conservation Sciences Program
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8866
kaitken@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ryan Alaric

Instructor/Coordinator - Watson Lake Community Campus
Community Education and Development - Southern
867.536.8800
ralaric@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Wally Rude

Registrar and Dean of Enrolment Services
Office of the Registrar
867.668.8712
wrude@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Joel Cubley

Instructor/Coordinator, Geological Technology Program
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
School of Science
867.456.8605
jcubley@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Aaron France

Instructor, Electrical
School of Trades, Technology and Mining
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8764
afrance@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Amanda Graham

Chair, School of Liberal Arts
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts
867.668.8773
agraham@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Brent Langbakk

Instructor, English
School of Academic and Skill Development
Applied Arts
867.668.8742
blangbakk@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Brian Horton

Manager, Northern Climate ExChange
Yukon Research Centre
School of Science
867.456.8636
bhorton@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Christina Thomas

Instructor, Office Administration
School of Business and Leadership
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8755
cthomas@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Colleen Grandy

Instructor, Multimedia Communications & Faculty Development
School of Business and Leadership
Information Technology and Learning Commons
867.668.8834
cgrandy@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ernie Prokopchuk

Co-chair

Chair, School of Science
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8865
eprokopchuk@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Janna van Kessel

Instructor/Coordinator, Academic Support
School of Academic and Skill Development
Applied Arts
867.668.8744
jvankessel@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Carrie Boles

Student
carrie.boles@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Alternate members

Shelagh Rowles

Executive Director, Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
867.668.8741
srowles@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Clint Sawicki

Associate Vice President, Research Operations
Yukon Research Centre
867.668.8772
csawicki@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Erica Bourdon

Chair, School of Academic and Skill Development
School of Academic and Skill Development
Applied Arts
867.456.8608
ebourdon@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kevin Kennedy

Instructor/Coordinator, Whitehorse Correctional Centre
Community Education and Development - Southern
867.332.4101
kkennedy@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Jon Gelinas

Instructor, Multimedia Communication
School of Business and Leadership
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8766
jgelinas@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Jaclyn Semple

Instructor, Math & Physics
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.456.8548
jsemple@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kara Mott

Associate Registrar
Office of the Registrar
867.668.8716
kmott@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Student - VACANT

Ex-officio attendees (non-members)

Lacia Kinnear

Director, Governance and Strategic Initiatives
Institutional Research and Planning
Governance Office
867.456.6987
lkinnear@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Bronwyn Hancock

Associate Vice-President, Research Development
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8632
bhancock@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Irina Bogachek

Administrative Assistant - Academic Council
Governance Office
867.668.8765
GovernanceOffice@yukoncollege.yk.ca

The Academic Council determines and regulates the College’s policies with regards to:

  • admissions and registrations;
  • terminations and withdrawals;
  • transfer credit, advanced credit and prior learning assessment and recognition;
  • curriculum content for courses;
  • student academic conduct and student appeals on academic matters;
  • requirements for graduation; and
  • awards recognizing academic excellence.

For specific details on the parameters and selection of Council members, see the College Act.

Academic Council Policies and Procedures

Academic Council Responsibilities
Policy AC-01
Revised date: Jun 20, 2018

Terms of Reference
AC Procedure 01
Revised date: Jun 20, 2018
 

Development of New Instructional Programs
Policy AC-03
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Development of New Instructional Programs Procedure
AC Procedure 03
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Review of Instructional Programs
Policy AC-04
Revised date: May 24, 2017

Review of Existing Instructional Programs
AC Procedure 04a
Revised date: June 2018

Suspension, Cancellation or Discontinuance of Programs
AC Procedure 04b
Revised date: May 24, 2017