Our People

Administration

Amber Polson

Administrative Assistant
Yukon Research Centre
867.668.8895
apolson@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Bronwyn Hancock

Associate Vice-President, Research Development
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8632
bhancock@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Kyla Foster

Financial Officer
Yukon Research Centre
403.934.8570
kkfoster@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Clint Sawicki

Associate Vice President, Research Operations
Yukon Research Centre
867.668.8772
csawicki@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Valoree Walker

Research Administrator
Yukon Research Centre
867.668.8857
vwalker@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Erin Holm

Marketing and Communications Coordinator
College and External Relations
867.456.8625
867.332.0009
eholm@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Samara Robertson-Lawless

Administrative Assistant
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.6953
srobertsonlawless@yukoncollege.yk.ca

First Nations Initiatives

David Silas

First Nations Engagement Advisor
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.6962
dsilas@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Northern Climate Exchange

Brian Horton

Manager, Northern Climate ExChange
Yukon Research Centre
School of Science
867.456.8636
bhorton@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Alison Perrin

Climate Change Education and Project Coordinator
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8593
aperrin@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Maciej Stetkiewicz

Climate Change and Northern Hydrology Project Coordinator
Yukon Research Centre
867.668.8874
mstetkiewicz@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Rachel Pugh

Climate Change Research Project Coordinator
Northern Climate ExChange
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8541
rpugh@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Fabrice Calmels

Research Associate
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8594
fcalmels@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Cyrielle Laurent

GIS Technician
Yukon Research Centre
claurent@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Louis-Philippe Roy

Climate Change and Permafrost Technical Analyst
Northern Climate ExChange
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8665
lroy@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Pamela Godin

Permafrost Researcher
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.6969
pgodin@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Northern Energy Innovation

Michael Ross

Industrial Research Chair in Northern Energy Innovation
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8539
mross@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Spencer Sumanik

Research Assistant
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8561
ssumanik@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Jason Zrum

Research Assistant, Cold Climate Innovation
Northern Energy Innovation
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.6823
jzrum@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Northern Housing Innovation

Stephen Mooney

Director, Northern Housing Innovation
Yukon Research Centre
867.456.8543
smooney@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Northern Mining Remediation

Guillaume Nielsen

Research Associate, Mining Life Cycle
Yukon Research Centre
867.668.8793
gnielsen@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Social Sciences

Faculty Researchers

Kathryn (Katie) Aitken

Instructor/Coordinator, Environmental and Conservation Sciences Program
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8866
kaitken@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Joel Cubley

Instructor/Coordinator, Geological Technology Program
Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining
School of Science
867.456.8605
jcubley@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Scott Gilbert

Instructor, Renewable Resources Management
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8776
sgilbert@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Ernie Prokopchuk

Chair, School of Science
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.668.8865
eprokopchuk@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Fiona Schmiegelow

ENCS Program Director
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
fschmiegelow@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Tara Stehelin

Instructor, Biology
School of Science
Applied Science and Management
867.456.6957
tstehelin@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Dave Mossop

Biology Instructor, Professor Emeritus at the Yukon Research Centre
Yukon Research Centre
School of Science
867.668.8736
dmossop@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Dana Jennejohn

Instructor, Bachelor of Social Work
School of Health, Education and Human Services
Applied Arts
867.668.8746
djennejohn@yukoncollege.yk.ca


 

Dr. Ellen Bielawski
Professor, Department of Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology
Faculty of Native Studies, University of Alberta
ebielawski@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Victoria Castillo

Instructor/Coordinator, Heritage and Culture Certificate
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts
867.456.8615
vcastillo@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Norman Alexander Easton

Instructor, Anthropology, Archaeology, Northern Studies
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts
867.456.8638
neaston@yukoncollege.yk.ca

University of the Arctic

Amanda Graham

Chair, School of Liberal Arts
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts
867.668.8773
agraham@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Adjunct Faculty

Doug Clark
Centennial Chair in Human Dimensions of Environment and Sustainability,
School of Environment and Sustainability,
University of Saskatchewan
d.clark@usask.ca

Aynslie Ogden
Senior Science Advisor,
Executive Council Office,
Government of Yukon
aynslie.ogden@gov.yk.ca

Gertie Saxinger
Anthropologist,
University of Vienna,
Arctic Polar Research Institute,
gertrude.saxinger@univie.ac.at 

Chris Southcott
Professor, Department of Sociology,
Lakehead University
csouthco@lakeheadu.ca

Sonia Wesche
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography, Environment and Geomatics
University of Ottawa
swesche@uottawa.ca

Amelie Janin
Water Resources Scientist
Department of Environment
Yukon Government
amelie.janin@gov.yk.ca

Stephan Gruber
Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in
Climate Change Impacts/Adaptation in Northern Canada
Department of Geography & Environmental Studies
Carleton University
stephan.gruber@carleton.ca