Nicole Lacroix
Enrolment Management Advisor
t: 867-668-8844

Financial Awards

Students are at the heart of Yukon College and are an integral part of Yukon’s future. Our Financial Awards program can help you reach your educational goals. Yukon College and our generous donors understand the value of an education, so we supply a variety of awards to help you support your educational and living costs.

Awards can be based on academic or personal achievement, or financial need, along with other specialized criteria. All applicants must have a minimum GPA of 2.0.

How to apply

Click on each award below to see whether you are eligible to apply and what documents you need to submit.

Whether you are applying for one or many awards, you need to fill out the following two documents only once:

  1. Student Financial Award Application
  2. Student Financial Award Application Waiver

Each award has additional application requirements and additional documents you need to submit. For instance, some require a Budget Sheet and some require a letter or essay. Please read the information carefully, and if you have any questions feel free to contact the Student Services Centre at 867.668.8720.

Applications can be submitted in person at the Student Services Centre, Ayamdigut Campus or to


Leith Wheeler Investment Counsel Awards: $500
Application Deadline: Friday, September 29, 2017

Leith Wheeler Investment Counsel wishes to make eleven separate $500 awards available to students registered in one of Yukon College’s Indigenous Self Determination Programs.

To apply, you must:

  • Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident
  • Be currently registered  in one of the five qualifying programs: First Nations Governance and Public Administration, Heritage and Culture, First Nations Community Services Administration, Heritage and Culture Essentials Skills, First Nations Leadership Training
  • Demonstrate financial need
  • Write an essay (200 words) describing how the program will help your career

Documents you need to submit:

NOTE:  Priority is given to citizens of Champagne Aishihik and Carcross Tagish First Nations, and second priority is to any Yukon First Nation and those First Nations that border the Yukon – Daylu Dena Council, the Taku River Tlingit First Nation, and the Gwich’in Tribal Council.